Nova Scotia is home to many wildlife species. The East Hants Municipality has a vast network of parks and trails which act as both a home for many wildlife species as well as enjoyable recreation space for locals and tourists alike. We wanted to introduce a mural to East Hants that educates the public about some of the many animals that live in the area in the hope to support conservation efforts. The Wildlife Awareness Mural aims to provide an opportunity for wildlife education, community engagement and participation, while also promoting a local trail and beautifying the area.

There are a lot of great wildlife resources available. This is where we got our information for the East Hants Wildlife Mural! The Wildlife Mural is located at the 9 Mile River Trails in East Hants, go check it out to see beautiful wildlife paintings by Nova Scotian Artist Barbara Cronk and to get to know some of our local wildlife! 

A special thank you to the Nine Mile River Trails Association, Barbara Cronk and the East Hants Municipality for their kindness and support with this project. 

Know any other places in Nova Scotia that could use a Wildlife Mural? Let us know by clicking here.

PBJ Design acknowledges that our projects take place in Mi’Kma’ki, on the traditional unceded lands of the Mi’kmaq People. Placemaking is nothing without the land and communities we work in, and we acknowledge that this place is Mi’Kma’ki. For more information, click here.

Information about White-Tailed Deer:

Canadian Geographic. (2006). Animal Facts: White-tailed deer. Retrieved from https://www.canadiangeographic.ca/article/animal-facts-white-tailed-deer

Canadian Wildlife Federation. (n.d.). Hinterland Who’s Who, White-Tailed Deer. Retrieved from https://www.hww.ca/en/wildlife/mammals/white-tailed-deer.html

Information about Coyotes: 

Canadian Wildlife Federation. (n.d.). Hinterland Who’s Who, Coyote. Retrieved from https://www.hww.ca/en/wildlife/mammals/coyote.html 

Information about Barred Owls: 

The Cornell Lab. (n.d.). All about birds, Barred Owl. Retrieved from https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Barred_Owl/overview 

Clifford, G.C. (2020). World Birds. What is a group of owls called? Retrieved from https://www.worldbirds.org/what-is-a-group-of-owls-called/ 

National Geographic. (n.d.). Barred Owl. Retrieved from https://www.nationalgeographic.com/animals/birds/b/barred-owl/ 

Information about Bobcats: 

Mancini, M. (2018). Mental Floss. 13 Furry Facts About Bobcats. Retrieved from https://www.mentalfloss.com/article/83631/13-furry-facts-about-bobcats 

National Geographic. (n.d.). Bobcat. Retrieved from https://www.nationalgeographic.com/animals/mammals/b/bobcat/ 

Information about Rabbits: 

PETA. (n.d.).  Living in Harmony with Wild Rabbits. Retrieved from  https://www.peta.org/issues/wildlife/rabbits/ 

Animal Corner. (n.d.). Wild Rabbits. Retrieved from https://animalcorner.org/animals/wild-rabbits/ 

Information about Raccoons: 

Barqueiro, K. (2017). Canadian Geographic. 10 Fascinating facts about raccoons. Retrieved from https://www.canadiangeographic.ca/article/10-fascinating-facts-about-raccoons 

What you can do to help wildlife:

Animal Welfare Institute. (n.d.). What you can do for wildlife. Retrieved from https://awionline.org/content/what-you-can-do-wildlife Strauss, B. (2019). Thought Co. 10 Things You Can Do to Help Wildlife. Retrieved from https://www.thoughtco.com/things-you-can-do-to-help-wildlife-4110438